Return to Website

Alumni Message Board

Your General Message Board to stay connected with former classmates & teachers from Central Catholic, Stamford Catholic, St.Marys and Trinity Catholic.

Alumni Message Board
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
View Entire Thread
Re: Re: student suicide on roof of stamford catholic high 1968 or 1969

dear sam thank you for your reply. this incident has stayed in my mind for all these years.i often think of that poor lost boy, when sadly, these events have become almost common place.i was a freshman that year as were you and your note has joged my memory.yes, father cusak was his intended victim and yes he did climb the arches and use a 22 rifle. i can not remember his name but i wish i could.i do remember that his brother was killed in viet nam the year before his suicide.the story i heard at the time was that the police rushed him on the roof with weapons drawn and he killed himself.i had the chance to meet with with fr cusack three years after this terrible tradegy.as you might imagine,this had a profound impact on him.fr cusak had a reputation as a hard nut back in those days.[yelling hitting jacking you up in the hall, far to many of those "priests"]he was deep in prayer and searching for meaning and peace when i last spoke to him.that was thirty years ago.i hope he found both.it was a tough time in 68/69,so much violence and death,we were all drifting.i will never forget that boy on the roof.he will be remembered.thank you for your reply

Re: Re: Re: student suicide on roof of stamford catholic high 1968 or 1969

This may be a morbid way to remember the name of that poor kid on the roof,but here arehe names of Stamford's dead from the Viet Nam War. Even after all this time it's STILL difficult to see these names listed.

#1, Norm Spenard was on his way out of the front door at SCHS in the fall of 1965.He had come by to say goodbye to his old teachers.