Salou Uncovered Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
View Entire Thread
Re: Permanent work in Salou?

Hi,Iam in a similar position myself, I work as a carer (dementia care) and would love to live and work in Salou,iam heading over at the end of March, Salou fest is on so there should be plenty of work available. As for permanant work that would be hard to find in the current economic climate. I would love to set up a business in Salou home help, carers, etc.Go on facebook and friend some of the bars and cafes etc, many of them are opening at the end of March for the Saloufest week, and then it's easter so you should be able to get work from March till end of October at least.Good luck.

Can either of you speak Spanish fluently?
I hate to burst your bubbles, or at least appear to be doing so.....but the chances of finding permanent, or even temporary positions over here are minimal, to say the least, especially if you can't speak Spanish fluently.
Secondly, if you are hoping to find anything of a professional nature, you WILL have to be able to speak and write Catalan fluently...and even then, you will be at the back of a very long queue of Catalans looking for work.
Seriously,if you think Salou is a better option than what you have now, you are more than likely to be totally wrong, and unless you can come over with a substantial amount of money to sustain yourself for at least a year, you will end up in a very difficult situation, especially if you don't have an escape route in hand to go back home.
The current unemployment situation in the Tarragona area is well about the national average, and the true figure is probably around 45%.
PLEASE think long and hard, before burning any bridges you might have right now.
Honestly just trying to forewarn you, not put you off your dream. Just be PREPARED.
Salou today, is a vastly different kettle of fish, compared to 8 years ago...

Hi Nick,